The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

The Republic of Thieves
The Republic of Thieves

Today I’ll be continuing reviewing the books that I read during Bout of Books. As you have might guessed from the title of the post, this time I want to talk about The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch. It’s the third book on his Gentleman Bastards-sequence and I just LOVED this book! I feel that the books just keep getting better and better in this series. Without further ado, let’s get to it why I loved this book so much! (Ps. There most definitely might and will be some spoilers if you haven’t read the series)

“That’s how luck works, lad.
You can bitch all you like about how things could have been more favorable for you, but rest assured things can always be worse.
Always.”

I feel that this quote just sums up the series perfectly. Every time Locke or any other characters feel that things couldn’t go any worse, something happens and makes everything 10 times worse than before. In the beginning of this book, things aren’t looking so good for Locke because he’s slowly dying from the poison he got in the last book. He’s starting to give up when a bloodsmagi comes to them and offers a deal. From this the story really starts and we follow Jean and Locke competing in political election against their old friend, Sabetha.

“Sloppy idiot,” Sabetha muttered at last. “You’re trying to be charming. Well, I do not choose to be charmed by you, Locke Lamora.”

Finally we get to meet her! I have been wanting to read about her from the moment I realized that there could be this awesome female character on this book too. Of course there have been other awesome female characters that I have enjoyed reading about but Sabetha was one of the bastards and the one to steal Locke’s heart. Was she as good as I expected to be?

I don’t really know actually. She was sassy, clever and awesome character but still I enjoyed more of her younger shelf on the interludes than in the main plot. I think she was more fleshed out in that and it could be also that that the interludes showed us how Sabetha and Locke fell in love with each other. Also there was the whole Gentleman Bastards gang on the interludes so that’s one more reason why I liked it better.

“I was badly misinformed, I deeply regret the error, go fuck yourself with this bag of money.”

From that we get to the plot which I didn’t find as good as in the other books. In the other two books I felt that the Gentleman Bastards were actively doing something (thieving) but in this book they just seemed to talk. Of course you really can’t go thieving when representing a political party but I would have liked there to be action, like how they did and what pranks they did against Sabetha would been nice to read. It felt that this book was more of an interlude to introduce Sabetha finally (!) and drop some bombs about Locke and his past. Oh, those things that we find out! I still don’t know what to believe.

I’m really interested to see what happens next in the series. Hopefully it’s more like the first two on the series than the third one. Still it’s going to be over a year still before we get the next book. Have you read The Gentleman Bastards – sequence? What are you thoughts on it and especially on the third book? Let’s talk about it down on the comments!

Ps. What you think about my new review style? Good or bad?

Answer

