The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

the colour of magicThe Colour of Magic
By Terry Pratchett
Published 1985 by Corgi Books
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There’s an avaricious buy inept wizard, a NAIVE tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exist if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet..

I don’t know why I haven’t picked up this series before. I have heard only fantastic things about it, most of the books are in my local library and are short and fun reads. Still I hadn’t picked them up before this year. I’m glad I finally decided to read this because it’s everything it promises.

I loved the world building, it was so bizarre and interesting. There was a lot of it but it never really bothered me because the story was so well written. I was surprised a little bit that the book was more like an collection of short stories than a one, whole story. That didn’t bother me for long and I really enjoyed reading these different stories of Twoflower’s and Rincewind’s adventures.

Answer

