The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson

the alloy of lawThe Alloy of Law
By Brandon Sanderson
Published 2011 by Gollancz
3.5 stars

Goodreads synopsis: The Mistborn trilogy has become a firm favourite with fantasy fans the world over. The imagination that Sanderson brought to the series and his skill at marshalling epic storylines and dramatic action, his ability to create vivid characters made him a natural choice to complete Robert Jordan’s epic wheel of time sequence. But with Mistborn, his standalone fantasies and his new series, The Stormlight Archive, Sanderson has shown his bountiful talents in his own fiction. Now he returns to the series that made his name with a new story set years after the events of Hero of Ages. In a world recovering only slowly from evil, a world where allomancers wield immense power through their ability to unleash the magic bound up in common metals someone who can burn metals that no-one has burned before can tip the balance…Sanderson has the knack of giving the epic fantasy reader exactly what they want. This ability has thrown him to the forefront of the genre and the dramatic story within The Alloy of Law shows off this skill to its very best.

I really wanted to love this book. I loved the first trilogy on the Mistborn-series and I really wanted my love to continue to this book too. Don’t get me wrong, I liked this book but it just wasn’t as good as the other three. I think that the biggest and maybe only reason that I didn’t feel as strongly of The Alloy of Law was because it reminded me so much of western fiction. Western fiction is one of the genres that I just don’t connect with and even though this had lot of fantastical elements too I just didn’t connect with it so much.

There were also so much things that I loved reading about. Like Wax and Wayne and their relationship. It was such a pleasure to see them talking together and I can imagine them becoming and awesome detective trio with Marasi. These three were the reason I liked reading this book along with seeing what had happened after the first trilogy. I’m really interested seeing what happens with Steris and the other three in the future. It was also interesting to read from the bad guys view point because he wasn’t just your typical bad guy, his reasoning’s for the things he did actually sounded pretty solid. And like Wax thought at one point, 300 years before the bad guy might have been viewed as a hero, not villain.

Even though I didn’t like this book so much I still want to read the next books because I liked the characters in this book so much. Have you read The Alloy of Law? What are your thoughts on it?

Answer

