The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

the immortal rules julie kagawaThe Immortal Rules
By Julie Kagawa
Published 2012 by Mira Ink
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: My Vampire Creator Told Me This:

‘Sometime in your life, Allison Sekemoto, you will kill a human being. The question is not if it will happen, but when. Do you understand?’

I didn’t then, not really.

I DO NOW.

This book was so good! I read her book Talon a little while ago and while it was good it didn’t blow me away like this one did. I actually was little worried that I wouldn’t like this book because vampire books have been so over hyped last couple years and I have tried to stay away from them. I loved Allie from the moment she was introduced to us. She is independent, can take care of herself well and takes care also other people in her “family”. I was little bit taken back of her life changing decision but understood why she did it after reading on.

It was also really interesting to read the struggles of being vampire and not wanting to be one and then coming to terms with it. This was the part I really enjoyed in the book, because I haven’t really read any books where the supernatural being struggles with herself/himself and I think Kagawa executed this very well. I loved reading how she came to terms with what she was and how she didn’t have to be a monster she thought she was. This of course took out of the other characters and some of them felt a little bit flat like the old lady who believed in the angels and Allie’s “rival” Ruth as an example.

Luckily the love interest in this book was little bit more developed than some other characters. Still I feel like Zeke was your basic, romantic hero, who takes care of every one, is self sacrificing and so on. But he was well written and I liked when I read about them and there wasn’t that much romance in this book which was a good choice from the author in my opinion.

This time I only added a teaser of the book trailer rather than the book trailer itself because I thought this was a cooler video. There’s a link to the full trailer too on the video if you are interested in seeing it.

I am really excited to read how the series continues in the next book. Have you read this or other books by Julie Kagawa? What are your thoughts on them? Tell me down on the comments!

3 thoughts on “The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

  1. I LOVED The Immortal Rules.
    The second one is EVEN BETTER. Got onto that now!!
    I need to read the final book.
    I followed via email ^_^
    Happy reading!
    Katie @ Kitkatscanread xx

    Like

Answer

