Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

IMG_20141204_131854Station Eleven
By Emily St. John Mandel
Published 2014 by Picador
5 stars

Goodreads synopsis: DAY ONE

The Georgia Flu explodes over the surface of the earth like a neutron bomb.

News reports put the mortality rate at over 99%.

WEEK TWO

Civilization has crumbled.

YEAR TWENTY

A band of actors and musicians called the Travelling Symphony move through their territories performing concerts and Shakespeare to the settlements that have grown up there. Twenty years after the pandemic, life feels relatively safe.

But now a new danger looms, and he threatens the hopeful world every survivor has tried to rebuild.

STATION ELEVEN

Moving backwards and forwards in time, from the glittering years just before the collapse to the strange and altered world that exists twenty years after, Station Eleven charts the unexpected twists of fate that connect six people: famous actor Arthur Leander; Jeevan – warned about the flu just in time; Arthur’s first wife Miranda; Arthur’s oldest friend Clark; Kirsten, a young actress with the Travelling Symphony; and the mysterious and self-proclaimed ‘prophet’.

Thrilling, unique and deeply moving, this is a beautiful novel that asks questions about art and fame and about the relationships that sustain us through anything – even the end of the world.

I loved everything in this book. I didn’t really know what the book was going to be about (till I read the inside flip) but had heard a lot of good reviews of it. First of all, I fell in love with the cover. I got the book from my library but I seriously thought about buying a copy because it was so beautiful!

Now I am seriously considering buying this books because it’s even more beautiful from the inside! I loved how the writing had this magical feeling to it throughout the book when we get to know these different characters before and after the pandemic which killed most of the human population. I loved how all these different lives intertwined with each other. I just couldn’t stop reading this book and read it almost on one sitting.

The only bad thing that I can really say about this book is that it was too short! I want to know of what happens in the future and get to know all the members of the Travelling Symphony. I feel that we were introduced so many cool characters that had their own story to tell. Actually I really want to join the Travelling Symphony. Do you?

Ps. I decided to try with this review something new and put here the book trailer for the Station Eleven. I feel that there so many great book trailers on Youtube and I want to share my love for them to you guys too! So tell me down on the comments what do you think of this new feature on my reviews. Yay or nay?

3 thoughts on “Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Answer

