Week in Review | Week 49

Where does the time go? Again one week has gone and it’s time for the weekly review. This week I did a little bit more reading done and also met friend and bought some Christmas presents.IMG_20141207_162929

Books I Read

1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake 2 stars
2. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner 3 stars
3. Angelfall by Susan Ee 3 stars
4. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel 5 stars
5. Sylvia Plath by Sylvia Plath 4 stars
6. The Cricket on the Heart by Charles Dickens 4 stars

I feel that this was a good reading week even though I read one 2 star book. Actually looking now at the books I read I am surprised how many there are. I have already done a review for The Scorch Trials and will be doing one for the Station Eleven and the poems by Sylvia Plath some time in the future. I also will talk more about the short stories in future in a post of their own.

I feel like the biggest reason I didn’t like Anna Dressed in Blood so much was the hype surrounding it. I had seen many reviews talking about how scary it is but as I was reading it, it didn’t feel scary at all. For some reason I thought that the main character would be a girl and was surprised when I finally realized that Cas was actually a boy. Otherwise the book didn’t really leave any impression on me so I gave it 2 stars because of that.

Angelfall was again a book that was hyped a lot. The copy I had actually proclaims itself as an internet sensation on the cover so I really was waiting for something amazing. I can understand why it’s so hyped book, because there’s different kind of angels, badass girl as a main character and so on. Still I couldn’t really connect with the characters and I didn’t really like the romance between the main characters. I gave this book 3 stars because the mother, even though I didn’t understand how she travelled faster than her daughter and the ending. It ended that way that even though I didn’t really feel that invested in the story I might pick the next books in future and see what happens.IMG_20141207_161955

Currently I am reading The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. It’s the third book in the Mistborn-trilogy and I am loving it already. I feel so conflicted because I don’t want the book to end because then I have to leave the characters I have come to love behind but also I want to read it as fast as I can so that I see what happens with the characters. I am about 150 pages in and feel like I can’t put it down.

This week also I decided to try audiobooks and joined Audible.com. When you join you get one month free with them so I used my first credit on John Scalzi’s Lock In, narrated by Wil Wheaton. I have to say I like the story and the Wil’s voice. I think i’ll be keeping my Audible account for the time being so if you have any suggestions on audiobooks I would love to hear them!Screenshot_2014-12-07-11-54-18

On the Blog

Blogmas 2014
Top 10 Tuesday | 2015 New Releases
Top 5 Wednesday | Series Titles
Red Seas Under Red Skies
Christmas Tag 
Saturday Trailers | Pitch Perfect 2
Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Received/Purchased Books

IMG_20141203_142307

Saga Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan
Lord of the Flies: Casebook Edition by William Golding
Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

I bought Saga Vol. 2 and Lord of the Flies when I was meeting my friend and I have to say that I’ll be sticking on ordering my comics/graphic novels from the internet because Saga was so expensive in the shop we went! Still I wanted to continue reading it and decided to buy it from there. Lord of the Flies I bought from my favorite second hand shop, Lukulaari, and I decided to buy this version because it includes essays surrounding the novel too and I decided that they would be interesting to read.

I won Hollow City by Ransom Riggs when I participated on Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A-Thon and it finally came to me last week! I have read the first one but I think I’ll be rereading it before reading this one because I can’t remember much of it.IMG_20141205_132538

Next Week

Next week I don’t have anything planned yet. I don’t feel like doing strick TBR’s so I don’t know what I’ll be reading after The Hero of Ages. I’ll be also doing my blogmas posts everyday next week too! Above picture is a little peek at one of the posts I have been thinking of doing, introducing my newest baby!

How’s your week been? What have you read? Tell me down on the comments, please!

4 thoughts on “Week in Review | Week 49

Answer

