The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

I am so sorry that I didn’t update last week my week review but I was in a bit of a reading slump so didn’t read much, didn’t update much. Luckily it lasted only for couple days only. But back to the topic of this post, my review of the Scorpio Races!

maggie stiefvater the scorpio races

The Scorpio Races
By: Maggie Stiefvater
Published 2013 by Scholastic
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line.

Some riders live.
Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a choice. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.


I feel that this book is really hard for me to review. Not because I didn’t like, I liked it a lot but it also left me not certain about what should I say about it. Stiefvater’s writing transported me from the first page to Thisby and the excitement and dread of the Scorpio Races. For a moment I couldn’t believe that it had ended where it ended because I thought there would be more. Damn you bonus materials, giving me false hope!

I liked the idea of capall uisce, horses from the sea who grave blood. It’s terrifying but at the same time you want to experience it, be the one that can tame them, like Sean Kendrick. When I was smaller, I read so many books related to horses and riding and dreamed of my own horse and now reading The Scorpio Races I could relate to that memory, feel after years the same way for horses. It brought so many good childhood memories back.

Other thing I want to mention the romance part of the book. It wasn’t so instalove like in so many other YA books. It was subtle and the main characters didn’t seem to notice their feelings for each other before someone else pointed them out and after that they didn’t pine for each other. Still I would have wanted to know more about them and their relationship. Especially after the Scorpio Races ended.

All in all, I recommend this book for people who like fairytales, horses or YA books. The writing was beautiful to read and now I really want to make November cakes! Have you read The Scorpio Races? What are your thoughts on it? Please comment down below!

Answer

