Every Day by David Levithan

every day david levithan
Every Day

By: David Levithan
Published 2013 by Electric Monkey Egmont Group
5 stars

Goodreads synopsisEach morning, A wakes up in a different body. There’s never any warning about who it will be, but A is used to that. Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. And that’s fine – until A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply.


I loved Every Day. This near the end of the year I can say that it’s going to be one of my favorite reads of the year. From the first page I was sucked in the story and couldn’t put it down till I finished it. It’s a story of A who doesn’t have his own body. Instead he wakes up every day in different body. His always acted as the person he’s woken up that day till he met Rhiannon. After that he tries to find every chance to see her, be with her.

A was awesome. In these bizarre conditions he hasn’t gone crazy or just given up instead he continues to live on and when he meets Rhiannon he starts to hope. Hope that there’s something, someone for him too. At the same time a boy whose body A has been in, tries to contact A to find out what happened to him. As things develop and A needs to deal with the different bodies, which aren’t all in prime condition and trying to find a way to be with Rhiannon, he grows so much and the ending, I just couldn’t. The book made me cry and smile so many times and it’s so short! I wasn’t in love with Rhiannon but I liked her and I could see why A liked her so much. I think I would have freaked out so much more than her at first but at the end I could relate to her feelings so well.

The diversity in the bodies that A had during the book was a great thing to read, I was little afraid that they were all going to be able bodied white men and women but luckily I was proven wrong. Levithan writes so well about all of these bodies and their life when A tries to be them. I feel that my favorite bodies were the girl that he went to Rhiannon’s school and the beautiful POC girl. But that might be because he was himself in them most of the time.

The ending. I just can’t. The feelings. I think A made the right choice but I wanted more! I need more and luckily there’s going to be a sequel next year. It’s going to be from Rhiannon’s perspective and I can’t wait to see what she thinks about all of this. I haven’t read any of David Levithan’s books before but I definitely read his other works in the future!

Have you read Every Day, or any of his other works? What are your thoughts on them? Please leave a comment and tell if there’s any of his books I should read sooner rather than later.

Answer

