The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

The well of ascension brandon sanderson

The Well of Ascension
By: Brandon Sanderson
Published 2008 by Tor Fantasy
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.

They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens, an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.

It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge.

I liked this book a lot. The first book was better in my opinion because it had more action than the second one. Most of the second book Luthadel is under siege, surrounded by three armies and because of that there’s not much of an action. The book concentrates more on politics and on the relationships of the crew and people surrounding them. Vin is still trying to understand who she is, she struggling with not understanding how she can be a Mistborn and a noblewoman at the same time. Elend is fighting with his own problems, trying to keep the town from getting attacked and keeping his crown. All these problems strain their relationship and then a new Mistborn enters the town.

As Vin tries to find out what she wants, she starts to see things on the mist and senses throbbing from the north. She with Sazed and Tindwyl, a Terriswoman, tries to find out if it’s the well of Ascension and could what ever was there, stop the mist murdering people.

the well of ascension brandon sanderson map

The Well of Ascension is only my second Brandon Sanderson book, but I have to say that I start loving his writing style. The way he writes things makes them easy to understand and enjoyable. I have a problem with reading, I need to know the page I am in currently and how many pages/chapters/parts there are left in the book, but with both of the Mistborn-novels I didn’t care. I just didn’t want the story to end.

I loved the characters in this book and the development each of them go through. Not only the main characters go through lots of development as a character but also the side characters. I am really impressed how Sanderson made all of the characters feel so alive and relatable. I am most impressed with Sazed’s development. Through out the book he experiences all these different things and they change him. A lot. Of course all of them go through difficult things and some of the things made me want to weep. At the end it was Sazed that I wanted to weep for.

The religion aspect in this book. There’s so many religions going on and was already in the first book, but in this book I felt that it was more present because of the Church of The Survivor. Vin’s reaction to the new religion for which she was kind of a saint was really relatable. I would have freaked out first if somebody started worshiping me. I am glad that she started to find out more of the religion and not be only afraid of it. Also how people still feared the Steel Ministry felt really real because like the crew realized, everything can’t just change right away.

The most impressing thing from the series is the magic systems. I was astonished by  it in the first book and I kept being astonished by it while reading the second one. I just feel that it’s a clever magic system to be able to use the metals in two different ways. It was great to learn more about how Feruchemy works and see how Vin’s Mistborn abilities grow. The book also tells more about Kandra and how Mistborn’s affect them. Brandon Sanderson is a great writer and I can’t wait to get the third book so I can finish the series.

Have you read The Well of Ascension? What are your thoughts of it? Please tell me on the comments!

Answer

