Week in Review | Week 45

Hi everyone and welcome to this week’s Week in Review-post. Here I talk about my last week, what books I have read, have I bought any books and other things happening in my life.

Books I read

books I read

1. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath 4 stars
2. Sweep by Cate Tiernan 3 stars
3. Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown 3 stars
4. Every Day by David Levithan 5 stars
5. Empowered by Adam Warren 3 stars
6. Ms. Marvel: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson 5 stars
7. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes 4 stars
8. Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin 2 stars

I did pretty good reading wise this week. The picture is missing Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac because I took it on Friday afternoon and I finished reading it after that. Most of these were really short books or graphic novels which were fast to read. I didn’t finish the reading goal I set myself last week, I am currently reading The Circle by Mats Strandberg in Finnish and I am enjoying it a lot and hopefully finish it today or tomorrow. I didn’t finish The City and The City by China Miéville. The premise seemed really interesting but I felt that the translation wasn’t very good and I had really hard time reading it so I decided to leave it. I’ll be trying read his other works in English somewhere in the future because I have heard some good things about him and his writing.

The Bell Jar is the first book I have read from Sylvia Plath. I have actually been really ignorant because I didn’t know about her before this year. Mostly because in Finland we concentrate more on Finnish literature which means that I haven’t read that many classics that everybody else seems to have read. I’ll be slowly correcting this so if you have any classics that you think I should read, tell me on the comments! Back to The Bell Jar. It is really beautifully written, it had lots of sentences that I just wanted to quote. It concentrated on the small things, how one doesn’t really feel connected to anything. I feel it also portrays the problem with medical care to depressed, they give pills and put them in hospitals when there should be someone that listens to them. I think I would have appreciated this more if I knew more about Sylvia Plath’s life because I understood this book to be a semi-autobiography.

sweep cal blaire witches cate tiernan

After The Bell Jar I read the bind-up of the three first books on the Sweep-series by Cate Tiernan. The three books were all really short, about 200 pages only so I was glad that I had picked the bind-up version. Otherwise it would have felt that it would have ended too suddenly. The series is basically about Morgan who realizes that she’s a witch and how she starts to study Wicca with other teenagers. It was a quick, nice read and I liked how the writer had researched Wicca before starting to write about it. I just felt that everything went too well for Morgan and the things seemed to solve themselves too easily. I might continue the series and see what happens in the next bind-up.

There’s nothing really to say about Darth Vader and Son, it’s a cute short graphic novel/picture book for people who like Star Wars. I liked the art style a lot. The second graphic novel I read was Empowered by Adam Warren. I haven’t read that many superhero-graphic novels so I didn’t know what to except. It’s about a girl that has a really tight and revealing costume which loses its powers when it brakes up. That happens a lot and our MC finds herself a lot of times gagged and tied up for which the other superheros tease her. It has romance, sex and violence in it and I thought it was pretty funny so I gave it 3 stars.

The last book I finished this week was Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac. I picked this book up because one of my favorite booktubers, Ariel, recommended it. I didn’t like this so much. The premise was really interesting but I didn’t really like any of the characters. I liked the parts where Naomi discovered herself, but I never understood why she was the cool kid before her amnesia. I would have loved it to concentrate more on the family relations but all just seemed to happen so that the reader saw the end result. First I gave this book three stars but as writing this, I realized that I didn’t really like this so much so I changed it to two stars.

I’ll be doing an review posts for Every Day, Ms. Marvel and Falling Kingdoms in the near future. I have lots of ideas for post and I just need time to get writing them.

My life

This week I wrote two reviews on the blog, the first one about Scarlet and Cress and the second one about The Lies of Locke Lamora. I also started running again. I downloaded a running app on my phone and I am liking it so far. I only went running once because the day I was going to do my second run it started snowing. I don’t have winter running shoes and the roads are now covered in ice so I don’t know when I am going to go running again. Hopefully next week, the snow should melt away then. I really want to start some sport again, it just feels so good to be moving and use your body.

books I bought

This week I got also some books. I don’t know much about the two other books but I’m really excited to read Throne of Glass, I have heard a lot of great things about it! I’m going to read it right after I have finished most of my library books. I also went to library and got five more books to read and I’ve been thinking about making a video of all the library books I currently have. They seem all to be great books and I can’t wait to read them!

I decided to get rid of some of my books. I am going to get rid off of 58 of my books, at the moment they are waiting in piles in our living room. I think I’ll be mostly donating them or smuggling them to my mother. Still I have lots and lots books to read but at least I am getting rid off the ones that I certainly am not going to read.

Saturday night we watched Edge of Tomorrow with my bf. I read somewhere on the blog sphere that someone is organizing a scifi month now in November and even though I am not taking part on it, I thought it would be nice to watch some scifi during November. I am still new to the genre which is a good topic for another time but I thought that I could write a small review for the movie too.

Next week

books I'll be reading

Next week I’ll be reading hopefully these books. I am in the middle of The Bees and the Circle. I’m also listening Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. It’s a Librivox recording and I am really enjoying it. I think I finish it next week too because it’s not really long book, I think the audiobook lasts only about three hours. And because I have never enough things to read I started a new webcomic: Strong Female Protagonist. I saw someone talking about this in twitter and it seemed interesting so I decided to give it a go. It’s actually going to be published as a graphic novel and I don’t know if should buy it.

It’s also my birthday on Tuesday! My boyfriend is going to be school that day so I think I’ll go book shopping on Tuesday and on the weekend celebrate with him. I’ll be turning 23. I can’t believe how fast time has gone. My boyfriend ordered me some books as a present and I can’t wait to see what he got for me! He had really hard time picking them he said.

I’m going to read The Mockingjay next week because the movie is coming at the end of this month and I decided to take part on Carpe This Librum – bookclub. They as many other bookclubs are reading The Mockingjay because of the movie. If you want to join in, you can find the group from Goodreads and the hash-tag on twitter and Instagram is #WeBurnYouBurn.

2 thoughts on “Week in Review | Week 45

  1. I read Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac because Ariel recommends it so much too. Ended up not liking it at all. Seem to like different books than her. Also gave it only 2 stars. Every Day is on my TBR so I’m looking forward to reading your review of it. Happy reading! 😀

    oh, and happy early birthday! 😀

    Like

    • Thanks a lot! I hope you are going to like Every Day when you read it. 🙂 I loved it and will be posting a review on it next week.

      Happy reading! 😀

      Like

Answer

