The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

lies of locke lamora scott lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora
By: Scott Lynch
Published 2007 by Gollancz
3½ stars

Goodreads synopsis: The Thorn of Camorr is said to be an unbeatable swordsman, a master thief, a friend to the poor, a ghost that walks through walls.

Slightly built and barely competent with a sword, Locke Lamora is, much to his annoyance, the fabled Thorn. And while Locke does indeed steal from the rich (who else would be worth stealing from?), the poor never see a penny. All of Locke’s gains are strictly for himself and his tight-knit band of thieves. The Gentleman Bastards.

The capricious, colourful underworld of the ancient city of Camorr is the only home they have ever known. But now a clandestine war is threatening to tear it apart. Caught up in a murderous game, Locke and his friends are suddenly struggling just to stay alive…

I liked this book and I wanted to like it even more than I did. The problem for me was that the moment you started to read the story there was all this action already happening and it didn’t really pause at any point. It just changed the action with other action and then it ended. Also I felt that some of the characters were underdeveloped and I could only really connect with Locke. So even if someone died in this book, I didn’t care a lot about it because I just hadn’t connected with the characters.

I loved those interludes between the chapters. It was so much fun to read how Locke grew up with other Gentlemen Bastards. It would have been nice to read also from other Gentlemen Bastards view points and not just Jean’s and Locke’s because that I would have felt much more connected to them. There was a lot of talk about Sabetha but not actual appearance from her which is frustrating because I feel she would be an awesome character to read about. I just hope that she makes an appearance soon on the next books.

All in all I liked this book a lot and I’ll be continuing the series. I have the next book on hold for me on the library and can’t wait to see what happens in it, I have heard many people say that it’s a great book. Have you read any Gentlemen Bastard books? What do you think about them? Tell me down on the comments!

One thought on “The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

Answer

