Scarlet & Cress by Marissa Meyer

scarlet lunar chronicles marissa meyerScarlet
By: Marissa Meyer
Published 2013 Feiwel and Friends
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Scarlet is very well written and it is certainly my favorite book right now in the series. I loved the chapters written with Scarlet’s view point, especially because I felt that there wasn’t as much action with Cinder going on. I still would have liked to read more about Queen Levana because I just find her intriguing character. I am sorry to say this but I am starting to feel that Kai is a boring character. I just don’t feel connected to him at all.

In my opinion the relationship between Scarlet and Wolf was best out of the three we have been introduced in the series. I love how Scarlet is not a lady in distress waiting for a man to help. She goes and actually tries to help herself but also accepts help from the others. I also liked how you really didn’t know what to think about Wolf. He being good and then bad and good again was really intriguing to read and at moments I didn’t know what to think because I rooted for their romance but then he did something bad and I felt that I had been wrong to root for them. I feel the romance between them is more realistic than the other two romances, because Scarlet is careful and just doesn’t give in easily. Also I wanted to say that Thorne and Cinder would have made a great couple. The way they act around each other it just makes me want them together.

As a conclusion I loved this book, I love Scarlet as a character and I want to hear more about her. Also Thorne and Cinder, they would be so perfect together!

Cress lunar chronicles marissa meyer

Cress
By: Marissa Meyer
Published 2014 by Feiwel & Friends
4 stars

Goodreads synopsis: In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

I loved this book but I didn’t like Cress. I feel like I am the only one who didn’t like her but I just couldn’t help it. I feel that Cress was irritating and the love she had for Thorne was just idolization not a real love. I am just glad that Thorne didn’t fell in love with Cress the moment they met.

Otherwise this book was awesome. I loved how there was finally action surrounding all the characters and not only some. It felt like finally they were doing something and not just sitting around. I loved the end where they stormed the castle to stop the wedding and finally we got some interaction between Kai and Cinder! Also the small snippets we got of Winter made me really interested about her and I can’t wait for a year to read the next one!

The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series this year. Have you read it? What are your thoughts on any of the books? Tell me down on the comments!

One thought on “Scarlet & Cress by Marissa Meyer

Answer

